Verdun, feuillets de guerre

Designed to pay homage to the poets and composers who fought at Verdun, Verdun, Music from the War takes a look at melodies that were, for the most part, written in the Verdun area. Performed by soprano Françoise Masset and pianist Anne Le Bozec, eleven of the melodies will be played on the site of the battle for the first time. The entire body of music performed here will be recorded on a CD of the same name, which will be released nationally to mark the reopening of the Memorial Museum.

The event is free but online booking is required before Saturday 20 February at 5pm.

Duration: 1 hr

The concert will be held in the museum’s auditorium.


Françoise Masset is a French soprano with a repertoire ranging from the Baroque to contemporary music. Critic Ivan Alexandre described her as “one of our few remaining narrative singers, who knows where to place the tonic accent and pathetic emphasis whether she’s performing Lully’s Isis or a song by Kosma”.

Anne Le Bozec, who teaches vocal accompaniment at the Conservatoire supérieur in Paris, is a French pianist who has received countless awards. She also teaches master classes throughout the world.

Françoise Masset. Photo : Frédéric Jean

Françoise Masset. Photo: Frédéric Jean

Anne Le Bozec. Photo : Caroline Doutre

Anne Le Bozec. Photo: Caroline Doutre



Listen to a preview. Verdun, feuillets de guerre, Les musiciens et la Grande Guerre, vol. XVI, Editions Hortus (release date: spring 2016): Lettre de chez nous by Pierre Vellones, performed by Françoise Masset, soprano and Anne Le Bozec, piano.


This performance is one of the six concerts scheduled for 2016 as part of the “Verdun, des musiques pour une bataille” (Verdun, Music for a Battle) programme. To mark the reopening of the museum, this programme of concerts will share with audiences the often unexpected or forgotten musical dimension of the First World War. The programme includes music written in or about Verdun, some of it “high-brow”, some popular in style e.g. chamber music, musical theatre, cabaret and songs sung by the soldiers. The concerts will also pay homage to the German music that continued to inspire classical musicians and composers serving in the armed forces. Belgian, British and Australian composers who lost their lives at the Front will also be included through a solemn commemoration in the form of an organ recital at the end of the programme. The performers, all of them well known in France and internationally, are particularly committed to the commemoration of the Great War in five subject areas – a new look at Verdun’s musical heritage, popular songs and shows, remembrance, passing on skills and knowledge and, lastly, commemoration.

Facebooktwittermail

Verdun, feuillets de guerre

Hommage aux poètes et compositeurs ayant combattu à Verdun, Verdun, feuillets de guerre propose une découverte des mélodies écrites pour l’essentiel aux alentours de Verdun. Interprétées par la chanteuse soprane Françoise Masset et la pianiste Anne Le Bozec, onze des mélodies seront jouées pour la première fois sur le lieu même de cette bataille. L’ensemble du corpus musical ainsi réuni sera enregistré dans le CD éponyme, qui paraîtra nationalement à l’occasion de l’ouverture du Mémorial.

Durée : 1 h.

Le concert se déroulera dans l’auditorium du Mémorial.

Cet événement est gratuit, sur réservation obligatoire en ligne, avant samedi 20 février à 17 h.


Françoise Masset est une chanteuse soprane française au répertoire diversifié, du baroque au contemporain. Le critique Ivan Alexandre la salue comme « l’une de nos rares, de nos dernières diseuses, qui sait où placer l’accent tonique et l’accent pathétique dans l’Isis de Lully comme dans une chanson de Kosma… ».

Anne Le Bozec, professeur d’accompagnement vocal au Conservatoire supérieur de Paris, est une pianiste française, récompensée à maintes reprises, qui enseigne également en master class dans le monde entier.

Françoise Masset. Photo : Frédéric Jean

Françoise Masset. Photo : Frédéric Jean

Anne Le Bozec. Photo : Caroline Doutre

Anne Le Bozec. Photo : Caroline Doutre



Écoutez en avant-première un extrait du CD Verdun, feuillets de guerre, Les musiciens et la Grande Guerre, vol. XVI, éditions Hortus (à paraître au printemps 2016) : Lettre de chez nous 
de Pierre Vellones, par Françoise Masset, soprano et Anne Le Bozec, piano.


Ce spectacle est l’un des six concerts présentés en 2016 dans le cadre du programme « Verdun, des musiques pour une bataille ». Accompagnant la réouverture du Mémorial, ce programme proposera aux spectateurs une dimension musicale souvent inédite ou oubliée du Premier Conflit. Il réunit en effet des musiques écrites à Verdun ou sur Verdun, « savantes » ou populaires. Il allie ainsi musique de chambre, théâtre musical, cabaret et chansons des Poilus, tout en rendant hommage à la musique allemande qui n’a cessé d’inspirer les musiciens classiques ou les compositeurs mobilisés. Des compositeurs belge, anglais et australien, morts au front, y sont également associés dans une commémoration solennelle à l’orgue, qui clôturera ce programme. Les artistes qui les interpréteront, connus et reconnus en France et sur la scène internationale, sont particulièrement engagés sur le thème de la commémoration de la Grande Guerre à travers cinq grands axes : le patrimoine musical de Verdun redécouvert, la chanson populaire et le spectacle, la mémoire, la pédagogie de la transmission et la commémoration.

Facebooktwittermail